Current Supreme Court Justices

About The Michigan Supreme Court Justices

Per the Michigan Supreme Court,(2) the process of becoming a justice is:

  • Candidates are nominated by political parties and are elected on a nonpartisan ballot.
  • Two justices are elected every two years (one in the eighth year) in the November election.
  • Supreme Court candidates must be qualified electors, licensed to practice law in Michigan for at least five years, and at the time of election must be less than 70 years of age.
  • The justices' salary is fixed by the State Officers Compensation Commission and paid by the state.
  • Vacancies are filled by appointment of the governor until the next general election.
  • Every two years, the justices of the court elect a member of the court as chief justice."

Current Michigan Supreme Court Justices

  • Chief Justice Robert P. Young, Jr.: Elected to the court in 2002 and re-elected in 2010 to a term that will expire on January 1, 2019.
  • Justice Michael F. Cavanagh: Elected to the state Supreme Court in 1982 and was re-elected in 1990, 1998, and 2006. He served as Chief Justice from 1991-95. Justice Cavanagh's current term expires January 1, 2015.
  • Justice David Viviano: Appointed to the Courton February 27, 2013, by Governor Rick Snyder.
  • Justice Stephen J. Markman: Appointed justice of the Michigan Supreme Court on October 1, 1999; re-elected to the Supreme Court in 2000, 2004, and 2012. His present term expires January 1, 2021.
  • Justice Bridget Mary McCormack: Elected to the Michigan Supreme Court in November 2012. Her term started in January 2013.
  • Justice Mary Beth Kelly: Elected to the Michigan Supreme Court in November 2010 and will serve a term that ends December 31, 2018.
  • Justice Brian K. Zahra: Appointed to the Michigan Supreme Court on January 14, 2011, by Governor Rick Snyder, and won election in November 2012.

More Information About the Michigan Supreme Court